2007-09-23

The weight of life


One night, I was supposed to wake up early at three in the morning, and read the drama references. But instead, I opened this book and found out the page. I understood the weight of life suddenly. Then, I slept until six.We can not escape, but tend to forget the weight of sadness.

��There is no choice. There is Fate. No man escapes his fate.��

��Look at the tree Atlas.��

Atlas rolled on his side and looked at the tree, strangely shining. He could not count the fruit.

��You chose three apples. Did you choose them by accident or chance?��

��When I looked there were only three apples on the tree.��

Atlas was puzzled. He had seen the tree laden with fruit, just as it was laden now, but while he had been picking the apples, there had seemed to be only three, the three he had to choose.

��There was no enchantment, Atlas. You could not see the tree as it is. You could not see the changefulness of the world. All these pasts are yours, all these futures, all these presents. You could chosen differently. You did not.��

Atlas said, ��Must my future be so heavy?��

Hera said ��That is your present, Atlas. Your future hardens every day, but it is not fixed.��

��How can I escape my fate?��

��You must choose your destiny.��

(Jeanette Winterson. Weight: The Myth of Atlas and Heracles, pp.75-76)

ah-dai at 4:16 p.m.

previous | next

0 ���گd��